The Marble-Boyle Undergraduate Achievement Awards in Geographic Science

Applications due October 15.

The Association of American Geographer's Marble Fund for Geographic Science is pleased to announce the new Marble-Boyle Undergraduate Achievement Awards. These awards aim to recognize excellence in academic performance by undergraduate students from the United States and Canada who are putting forth a strong effort to bridge geographic science and computer science as well as to encourage other students to embark upon similar programs. These awards, together with the William L. Garrison Award for Best Dissertation in Computational Geography, are activities of the Marble Fund and are supported by donations to the Fund. In the case of the current awards, the support of Mr. Jack Dangermond is gratefully acknowledged.

The awards are named for Dr. Duane Marble, creator of the Marble Fund, and for the late Dr. A. R. (Ray) Boyle who was a major Canadian contributor to the early development of both computer cartography and geographic information systems.

Each of the Marble-Boyle Undergraduate Achievement Awards consists of a cash prize of $700, a $200 credit for books published by the ESRI Press and a certificate of recognition. Initially, up to three awards will be made available each year. Formal presentation of the awards will be made at the annual AAG awards luncheon. Awardees are encouraged, but not required, to attend.

Applications will be reviewed by the Marble Fund's Undergraduate Achievement Award Committee. After review, the Committee will recommend up to three applications to the Marble Fund Trustees as winners. Final awards will be made by the Trustees. The conditions for application are:

1. Applicants must be enrolled in a full–time program of study at an accredited United States or Canadian college or university.
2. At the time of the application, the applicant must be no more than twelve months from graduation.
3. Applicants must demonstrate a reasonable intent to embark upon a career or further education that will make use of their joint geographic science and computer science knowledge.
4. There is no limit with respect to the number of students who can apply from a single institution. There will be, however, only one student per year from a single institution who may receive an award.
5. Applicants do not need to be members of the Association of American Geographers, but they are strongly encouraged to consider membership.

Full information on the awards and the application process may be found at: