2009 National Geographic Award in Mapping

Undergraduate students and master's-degree candidates are invited to apply forthe National Geographic Award in Mapping. Deadline for submissions is February 15, 2009.

This award recognizesstudent achievement in the art, science, and technology of mapping and seeks toencourage student research. The first place award consists of a cash prize of$900 (U.S.) and the second place award is $300 (U.S.). Both winners will alsoreceive National Geographic map products.

Submissions may take a variety of forms, but must focus specifically on maps and mapping. The following types of submissions are welcome: map products in digital and paper format; web-based maps or cartographic services; dynamic, animated, and/or interactive geovisualization software environments; or other cartographic projects.

This award is administered through the Association of American Geographers (AAG) Cartography Specialty Group (CSG). Judging will be by the National Geographic Award in Mapping committee of the AAG CSG and will be based on the technical, aesthetic, and overall quality of the submission. The award winner, or winners, will be announced at the CSG meeting at the Annual Meeting of the AAG in Las Vegas, Nevada, March 22-27, 2009. Applying students do not need to be members of the AAG.

Submissions are encouraged in standard digital formats (e.g. .pdf, .html, submissions accessible through conventional web browsers, etc.). Include the following items with your submission:

  • A cover page that includes your name, institutional affiliation, degree program (e.g. M.A.), address, phone number, email, and cartography/GIS instructor's name.
  • A one page statement that provides some context of the submission, i.e. its purpose, how it may be used, how it was created, its limitations, etc.
  • A one page statement of how this award would help you with your educational plans.

Submissions must be received by February 15, 2009.

Apply by sending all digital materials to Jeremy Mennis, Academic Director of the AAG Cartography Specialty Group, at jmennis@temple.edu. For more information contact Jeremy Mennis or David Miller of National Geographic Maps (dmiller@ngs.org ). For more information on National Geographic Maps visit, www.natgeomaps.com.

Submissions in paper format are also welcome. Paper submissions may be mailed to:
Jeremy Mennis
Department of Geography and Urban Studies
Temple University
1115 W. Berks St., 309 Gladfelter Hall
Philadelphia, PA 19122