Treaties can be an important legal vehicle for First Nations.

Six-Stage Treaty Negotiation Process

British Columbia Treaty Commission Agreement Six-Stage Treaty Process

The six-stage treaty process is set out in the BC Claims Task Force Report of 1991 and incorporated in the tripartite British Columbia Treaty Commission Agreement of 1992. The process is voluntary and open to all First Nations in British Columbia.

Stage 1 – Statement of intent to negotiate
Stage 2 – Readiness to negotiate
Stage 3 – Negotiation of a framework agreement
Stage 4 – Negotiation of an agreement in principle
Stage 5 – Negotiation to finalize a treaty
Stage 6 – Implementation of the treaty